Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

Want to get a degree, CJ degree good or bad choice?

I'm relativity new to the site and have done some reading up but I have yet to see this anywhere so I'm sorry if this is a repost.
I'm currently in my second year of university and I know that I want to become a LEO. I'm not looking so much toward and federal agencies at the time and really am leaning towards the Maine State Police. I've heard both sides of the coin on whether to get a CJ four year degree or something else if you want to go into LE, so I'm torn one what to do. One university here offers a dual Criminal Justice/Psychology degree which could put me out ahead of other applicants. Also, would later getting a Masters in Criminal Justice Administration be worth anything? What really could I do with such a degree? Do you know anyone with similar degrees?
Thanks.

Comments

• My daughter is in her sophomore year at college majoring in CJ, minor in Pshyc. She's has done an intern ship at and now works as a fill in dispatcher at Morehead City PD here in NC and the chief and most of the senior and ranking staff there all say to get her degree first. Also, and I know this is federal, but we have a woman in our church who is an officer for NCIS and she is hounding my daughter to get her to do an internship there because of her career goals and working on her degree. Hope that helps some.
  • A degree in CJ isn't BAD, but it's a degree that a ton of people have. I have had officers tell me that if you want to advance to a Captain or Chief it would be a good idea to get a degree in say, Business Administration or something management related.