Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

Does being a little bit of a trouble maker in college mean you cant be a cop?

As a college student, I've made a few mistakes. There have been times I have had a little too much to drink and have been obnoxious, and have had a few scuffles (with frat brothers) and dumb arguments with people out on the street. At one point I used a fake ID one time, then cut it up and threw it away when my parents explained to me I couldnt be a cop if I got caught with it. I also smoked weed, but only about 5 times. I like to think that I was just young and dumb and have made strives to grow up and not do stupid crap like that anymore. Does that make me not good enough to be a cop now?
I have never driven drunk or anything like that)

Comments

• It is going to depend. first and foremost how honest you are with the department you apply for. Secondly, have the cops ever been called for your scuffles? Ever been arrested? And how long ago was it since you smoked? All these things will be considered. Everyone has done stupid stuff, but it has to be in your past and not recently repeated. There is no short answer to this one.
  • Just be honest and forthright when you take your Polygraph screening. They aren't looking for mistakes a dumb kid made years ago, but if you lie the machine will call you on it
  • I definitely understand theres a lot of factors, every department is different, and that honesty is key. I have luckily (thank God) never been arrested or anything like that. I'm currently a junior and won't be applying until I graduate most likely. I have grown up the past year and a half, been a lot more careful about how much I drink, and plan to continue not being an idiot.