Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

Myself and My Aspirations

Hi everyone. My name is Matt. I'm currently a freshman in college studying law with my sights set on becoming a police officer. My father, recently retired, was a police officer for 30 years. This is definitely why I was drawn to becoming an officer. I mean the day I was born he had to call a Sergeant in to cover him so he could shoot down to the hospital to see me born! I don't resent him in any was for working the hours he did. He always managed to make it to my games and support me with everything. He would even take the private duty jobs for my concerts so he could hear me play. I mean the guy did and does everything he can for my siblings and I. Seeing his struggles growing up has really given me an extreme amount of respect for the shield he put on every day. Once I was old enough to realize that the job wasn't about the shiny badge, the cool uniform or the fancy car I was 100% dead set on becoming an police officer. I can't tell you how many times my dad, my mom, my dad's partner and every other police officer I've known have tried to talk me out of this profession, but it never did and never will work. I was born to be a police officer.
I'm hoping that I can set myself up, in college, to be successful after when I go to apply at a department. I'm currently pre-law for my undergrad and then law school after. But after discussions with my advisor, a Mass. State Police officer, and one of my CJ teachers, a Springfield Police Captain, I'm wondering if I should get my bachelor's in Criminal Justice, Master's in Business Admin., and then go to law school as a back up for if I get hurt, because I definitely want to stay in the Criminal Justice System. I was just wondering what you guys/girls (officers) did to get to where you are today. Any help is appreciated! And if there are any lawyers on here can you give me a hint on how bad getting my jd is going to be? Thank You!

Comments