Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

Do you carry off duty? Why or why not?

Do you carry your gun off-duty? Is it a good or bad thing? What are your thoughts/opinions?

Comments

• There are two things I never do, go to work without a vest, leave the house without a gun. I carry all the time, even to church. You never know when you will need to protect yourself or your family..
  • I never even owned a gun prior to working in law enforcement. Now, after seeing all I have seen, I wouldn't go anywhere without it!
  • edited 20 Nov 2012
    I'm now retired, but I still care plus I'm a NRA Certified Instructor for basic pistol plus teach for CCW. I carried both on duty and off duty. It was required by our department to carry off duty. I though it wise of them since we had the Impact Program where we had take home cars that were assigned to us. It would have pretty stupid driving around in a mark unit without a side arm. There were a few times I was thankful for having my side arm with me while off duty. Heck, I even carry in my home...
  • Always. Even at home. 28 years as a cop...I've seen too much to not carry.
  • Always carry off duty!

• edited 20 Nov 2012
    I live and work near one of thee deadliest cities in the country. I do not go anywhere with out a weapon. You never know what's gonna happen. I've had someone try and sell me dope at a gas station.
  • I will not leave home without it. I do not want to run into the thugs I deal with every day when I am on my way to church or even at church these days with my family and regret for the rest of my life not having mine on me. Better to have it and not need it I always say.