Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

Telling Police Officers I am a Cop.

So, how do you guys do it? I'm mostly thinking of on a traffic stop. Do you come straight out with 'I'm a cop', do you try to slide you ID with your license, try something coy like 'my insurance is in the glove box, but my off duty firearm is in there, too', or something else.

Most of the time I've stopped other cops, I either knew them, or they made sure I saw their badge when they were getting their license (and they came across as jerks). I'm going on a road trip and, if I get stopped, basically want to know how to say it without coming across as a d---, haha. I'm not going to be driving crazy or anything, but as we all know, sometimes you just don't pay attention to those weird signs with numbers on them.

Comments

• I was told way back when (20 years ago) that it was important to let the Officer know right away that you were Police officer too, especially if armed. I was also told that your actions of turning on your interior light, placing your hands on the 12 O'clock position and showing him or her the utmost respect would probably give you away anyway.

I was also told not to expect a pass, but earn one. Is that the way it's still done? I sure hope so.
  • I've been stopped once (I was off duty) I showed my ID and insurance.. the state trooper asked what that was (my side arm) I told him I was an off duty PD and didn't realise I was speeding.. he let me go with no ticket...I didn't flaunt my badge or get all pissed off at him for doing his job..
  • Well I carry everywhere i go so my first words after the officer's spill with my hands in sight of course is " Sir before we go any further, I am armed. I am a police officer and I have my crudentials." Usually works really well.
  • You know how you feel when other officers do it to you...Show some respect for the officer and just don't do it. If your caught, be a man pratice what you preach and move on.