Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

New Officer

Hello, my name is Andrew and I am a new officer in my department. I have been with them for less than a year and am still in Field Training. I had a rougher time last phase, faster/tougher part of town, than my first phase, slower/safer. Its a little frustrating but i under stand there is a learning curve. Im also not a big fan of my field training program as a whole, nor do I care for the Sergeant that is in charge of the FTO program. The department seems to be very gossipy, i have heard rumors about me that I have no idea where or why they came about. My frustration is rising and I am occasionally not sure that this is the right job/department for me. Being new to the position, I was wondering if others have had this experience and how they dealt with it.
Much Respect,
Andrew

Comments

• Hang in there. Most of them just brush it off. Im not an officer yet but I heard a lot of stories from friends, similar to yours.
  • You will deal with office politics at any department. You know the truth, just have to brush off what you hear. If they are making stuff up, it means your good or have something they want. I know it is hard, went through the same sh*t. Hang in there.
  • Same at my department. Doesn't matter where you go, you will notice the "Gossip."

Naturally, you won't always agree with your FTO. That's one of the reasons why you have more than one. Every FTO trains differently. Your supposed to take a little from each trainer and then develop your own style of policing. FT is tough. It's meant to be. I always tell my guys to sit back, absorb and don't argue (too much).

But as far as the gossip goes, welcome to police work pal, its high school all over again.